Anberlin-Lowborn


Not having any experience with Anberlin, I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this review. I know, I know. This is their final album, the seventh at that (along with an EP and a couple compilation albums) and I had never listened to them. Judge me if you want, but I am glad I had the chance to listen before they were no longer a thing.

I have heard about Anberlin for a while now through the organization To Write Love On Her Arms (TWLOHA). I am a huge supporter of the cause, so I had to check out one of their favorite bands. I see why they like the band so much. Lowborn is one of those albums you need to listen to a couple of times to truly appreciate it. The first time through I was just getting a feel for what the band was about. It seemed to all blur together and not really have any certain qualities popping out at you. I guess that’s one thing I like about it. It isn’t all in your face but as you listen on, the little differences make you think. What is this song about? Does it apply to me?  As you go on, asking the latter question, you realize YES. This completely applies to me. The album is completely relatable, with lyrics like “Memories circle like birds of prey; waiting for the right mind to drive insane” in my favorite off the album, Birds Of Prey. The songs make you want to scream the lyrics right along with the band.  I think this is the reason TWLOHA supports the act.

The music itself, not talking about the lyrics, is not as impressive. It is generic rock, like they are trying to sound like every other band of their genre out there, but with more electronics. I don’t like that. Try to be original. Your lyrics were so good, Anberlin. I would ask you to step it up, if this wasn’t your last album. Oh well. Sometimes I prefer the music, sometimes the lyrics. These tracks have top-notch verses and deeply meaningful choruses, so I’ll forgive them for what they lack in the guitar world. Anberlin, thanks for inspiring people. That seems to be the band’s main job, and I admire them greatly for that.  

 

 

Author: notmydisabilities

Thank you for stumbling onto my blog. My goal for this blog is to share my experiences and try to help others . I love to spread the word and advocate. Join in!

Leave a comment

The Way I Am

Live everyday as if it was your last

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

Gregoria Green

"Poets are the unacknowledged legislators of the world".

Unprecedented Cult

Being Candid, behind the walls

Brainless Mom

no thinking needed

Platypus Lady

My life and my imagination

Vital;ty

some scars can’t be seen

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

LOWLIFE MAGAZINE

"Find what you love and let it kill you." – Charles Bukowski

Seasons of Seroquil

To anyone who has a mental illness or a loved one suffering with mental illness:

sinksinkswim

Turn the tide.